Make your own free website on
Whisper Beauty's Tai Chi Garden
The Eight Meridians trace the flow of energy (chi) through the body. Some Tai Chi instructors will describe the correct Tai Chi form by referencing these points, and Qigong exercises may call for focusing on or tracing the meridians. There are some disagreements between practioners of the exact location of the meridians. This description has been taken from Scholar Warrior: An Introduction to the Tao in Everyday Life by Deng Ming-Dao.
Meridians The Eight Meridians  (mei means Channel)
  1. Dumei:  Beginning at the pernium and rising up the back along the center line of the body, this channel rises over the scalp and down the forehead and ends at the upper palate of the mouth.

  2. Renmei:  From the tip of the tongue, this channel descends along the center line of the front of the body to the back of the pernium.

  3. Chongmei: This channel rises vertically from the pernium to the top of the head connecting the three dantiens.

  4. Daimei:  This meridian encirlces the waist like a belt.

  5. Yangyumei:  From a point on the dumei these channels travel bilaterally along the back of each arm, around the tip of the middle fingers, along the inside of the middle fingers to the point laogong.

  6. Yinyumei:  From the laogong point of the palm, these meridans travel along the inside of each arm, curve across the pectoral muscles, descend through the nipples, and connect with the renmei.

  7. Yangqiaomei:  These meridians begin at the perineum and emerge onto the front of each leg.  They descend the front of a leg to the point known as yongquan.

  8. Yinqiaomei: From the soles of the feet, these two meridians rise up the inside surface of each foot, loop around the ankles, and ascend the inner thighs back to the perineum.

Meridian Junctions

Junction Points Along the Eight Meridians

  1. Huiyin:  This point between the legs and halfway between the genitals and the anus is the junction for the dumei, renmei, chongmei, yangqiamei, and yinqiaomei.

  2. Mingmen: This point along the dumei, at the point directly behind the navel.  It is where the daimei intersects with the dumei.

  3. Gaohuang:  This point is along the dumei between the shoulder blades, directly behind the heart.  It affects the heart and lungs.

  4. Niyuan:  This point is on the top of the head in the very middle.  It is the upper junction point for the chongmei with the dumei.

  5. Laogong:  This point is on each palm, where your middle finger touches your palm.

  6. Shenque: This point is the navel and is the junction for the renmei and daimei.

  7. Yongquan: This point is on the sole of each foot.   It is along a line between the middle toe and the heel, and is about two-thirds of the way forward from the heel.